Home

Found this in the coffers… Poignant these days. Written a couple of years ago. Inspired by and dedicated to an anonymous friend who shed light on some deep rooted pain a while back he came with old anger, somehow, heard my place and we left with new awareness… I do hope we have since allowed it to heal… Some people will always see you how they wish to see you, and it often takes a jolt for them to see that you have grown. You have to be open to change… Some are — some aren’t. I give thanks to him for giving me some more perspective to work with, and allowing growth to happen.

With Love,


Let’s go back to the playground
and play a little game of tag
Tackle the guy with the open heart
let’s peg him, break him & call him a fag

It was every man for himself out there
no better when some got home
spent the nights shaking in fear
the days trying not to feel so alone

Please don’t hurt me ‘cuz you’re hurthing inside
swallow me up in your pain
none of us have a place to hide
we all get wet in the rain

May sound corny or a little cliche’
but when the reindeer games are finally over
It’ll be Rudolph who saves the day

Let’s go back to the playground
how about a little hide and seek
maybe we’ll play for fun this time
I’ll count to ten –go hide– promise I won’t peek

Still every man for himself out here
hope it’s better since we’ve grown
paid all our debts in arrears
and found ways not to feel so alone

Can’t hurt me now when you’re hurting inside
swallow me up in your pain
Might not have a place to hide
but I’m getting out of the rain

May sound corny or a little cliche’
now that all the reindeer games are over
see? It was Rudolph who saved the day

©Rachel Marco-Havens 2011

3 thoughts on “We all get wet in the rain

    • As a mother, it is do hard to watch my son live through some of the hardest and most amazing days of his life, knowing that the walls he builds could keep him trapped forever. I beg my son to be of his heart, and then I watch him guard it from the blows…

      I have an outspoken way of being, and my truths, words, thoughts, feelings have always had an effect on people that make them want to turn away. Close their eyes, slap their hands over their ears and sing “Lala la la la la” at the top of their lungs…

      I have tried to pale myself in comparison, shut my mouth, stifle my me-ness, and I have learned that that does NOT work! I have grown and many do not want to notice even if they could…

      So I just keep moving… Fortunate that the few who really do see me… really do love me.

Leave a Reply

